Tuesday 2 June 2009

2009 P.J. O'Connor Shortlist

RTÉ Radio 1 has announced the shortlist for the 2009 P.J O'Connor Drama Awards.

The judges for this year's competition are: Writer, Eugene McCabe; Actor and Director, Bairbre Ni Chaoimh and Jesper Bergmann, Chief Dramaturge at The Royal National Theatre, Copenhagen. Over 500 entries were received and fourteen have been selected for the shortlist.

The winners will be announced live on The Arts Show on Monday 8 June at 8.00pm on RTÉ Radio 1. As well as the prize money, the winners receive the professional production of their play, the chance to take in writers' workshop, and the winning and short listed plays are broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1.

The RTÉ Radio 1 Drama Awards shortlist:
  • "Dylan, Thomasina and Me" by John Austin Connolly, Booterstown, Co. Dublin
  • "Lilters and Lovers" by James Corbett, Maherafelt, Co. Derry
  • "Brave Day for It" by Derek M. Doherty, Beijing, China
  • "Noah's Transportation" by Davy Ferguson, Dunmanway, Co. Cork
  • "Working for the Clampdown" by Patrick Fitzsymons, Bushmills, Co. Antrim
  • "Taxi" by Ciarán Gray, North Strand, Dublin 3
  • "Elvis Is Dead" by Shay Healy, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4
  • "After We Got Back" by Sinead Hickey, Dundrum, Dublin 14
  • "How I Created a Financial Crisis" by Michael Minihan, John's Hill Waterford
  • "Shrewsbury Road" by Kevin Murphy, Dalkey, Co. Dublin
  • "A Game Of Confidence" by Billy O'Callaghan, Douglas, Cork
  • "The Come Back" by Siobhan Shine, Menlo, Galway
  • "Happy Hour" by Ashley Taggart, Harold's Cross, Dublin 6
  • "Icarus O'Neill's Rising Dilemma" by Nicholas Wilkinson, Annamoe, Co. Wicklow

No comments: