Wednesday 28 January 2009

Critics' Circle Awards: Theatre

The Stage announces the winners of this year’s Critics' Circle Awards:

  • Best New Play - August: Osage County by Tracy Letts (National Theatre presentation of the Steppenwolf Company).
  • The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical - La Cage aux Folles (Menier Chocolate Factory and West End).
  • Best Actor - Kenneth Branagh in Ivanov (Donmar West End).
  • Best Actress - Margaret Tyzack in The Chalk Garden (Donmar).
  • The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance, awarded jointly to - Derek Jacobi in Twelfth Night (Donmar West End) and David Tennant in Hamlet (RSC).
  • Best Director - Michael Grandage for Ivanov and The Chalk Garden (Donmar West End and Donmar).
  • Best Designer - Neil Murray for Brief Encounter (West End).
  • Most Promising Playwright - Alexi Kaye Campbell for The Pride (Royal Court).
  • The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer - Ella Smith in Fat Pig (Trafalgar Studios and West End).

No comments: