Thursday 22 May 2008

New Screenwriting Competition

The Irish Film Board reports on the Irish Reception at Cannes, which includes a mention of the launch of the new Irish screenwriting award, Write Here, Write Now.

The DIFF website offers the following information:

The Dublin International Film Festival in association with Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures (Ireland) have come together to recognise the centrality of the writer to the filmmaking process in a brand new screenwriting award, Write Here, Write Now.

"Ireland is rightly famed world wide for its storytelling ability - and for its love of cinema.The Dublin International Film Festival's innovative work is vital to the growth and development of writers and filmmakers in Ireland. The Walt Disney Studios have shot many fine films in Ireland. We have also acquired and distributed many Irish-originated films, which gives us particular pleasure in the Irish office. In teaming with DIFF, WDSMP Ireland is happy to have found a new and exciting way to further encourage quality Irish screenwriting and filmmaking with this award".

Trish Long, Vice President & General Manager. WDSMP

This substantial award will acknowledge and support the creation of original and innovative scripts, through a combination of development funding, as well as extensive promotion withinthe film industry.

The winning script will receive a cash prize of €7,500 / $12,000.
The prestigious jury includes John Hurt, Lenny Abrahamson, Trish Long (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, Ireland), Sue Bruce Smith (Film Four) and US Agent David Flynn.

Submissions will be accepted between July 7th and September 19th. Applicants must be Irish citizens or residents. The entry form is available to download, and each application must be accompanied by a €100 fee.

No comments: