Wednesday 21 February 2007

Irish Times Theatre Award Winners

Here is the list of winners from the recent Irish Times Theatre Awards in Dublin, courtesy of RTÉ

  • Owen Roe won Best Actor for his performances in The Taming of the Shrew, Catastrophe and Festen.
  • Jane Brennan was named Best Actress for her performance as Alice in the Alice Trilogy.
  • Declan Conlon won Best Supporting Actor for his performance in A Month in the Country.
  • Mary Murray took away the Best Supporting Actress award for her performance in the Alice Trilogy.
  • The Best Director award went to Atom Egoyan for Eh Joe.
  • Rough Magic theatre company won the Best Play award for The Taming of the Shrew.
  • Tom Murphy was honoured with the Best New Play award for his Alice Trilogy.
  • Wexford Festival Opera received the Best Opera Production award for Transformations.
  • A special tribute award was presented to Ingrid Craigie for her contribution to Irish theatre.
  • The judges' special award went to Fishamble Theatre Company for Whereabouts and its use of Temple Bar for theatre productions.
  • Sabine Dargent won the Best Set Designer award for her work on Hysteria and The Walworth Farce.
  • The Best Designer: Costume award went to Monica Frawley for her work on The Taming of the Shrew.
  • Rupert Murray was posthumously awarded the Best Designer: Lighting award for his work on Catastrophe, Play and The Taming of the Shrew.

No comments: